An End and A Beginning

Bout of Books 12 is over!

End results: I finished TWO books (Francesca Lia Block’s Love in the Time of Global Warming and Malinda Lo’s Huntress) and is still working through her last one (Ryan Graudin’s The Walled City). Chebk is still working her way through her science fiction anthology. We also completed every daily challenge this competition!

award
Thank you, Tumblr. We accept.

All in all, it was a good first Bout of Books for me. I started steady and competitive and got lazy towards the end of the week, especially over the weekend when social obligations called. We also have to cut Chebk some slack for tackling Bout of Books during her first week on the new job. 😉

Lessons learned? Marathon reading may be best handled in smaller daily page counts. I’m very into The Walled City’s story and writing style but the first half of the week was spent on reading 200+ pages per day, which just wasn’t sustainable. I think the challenge was a great way to start off the new year, though, and I hope to continue daily reading until the next Bout of Books in May!

When there’s nothing left to burn, you have to set yourself on fire.
Art by Jay Anacleto.

I was really excited to have gotten through some diverse YA books for the reading challenge. They were all very culturally driven (Greek mythology and Chinese/Japanese mixed backgrounds) with queer characters in every book. (I am assuming one of the characters in The Walled City is queer. I may have to correct this later if I find out otherwise.) All these characters got to be unapologetic heroines (or heroes) of their own stories and I hope that a new generation will find comfort in books like these. It is still fairly difficult to find representation (especially queer Asian representation) in the Young Adult section but these three books have given me a lot of hope for the future.

Lastly, before I go, I wanted to introduce you all to The Book Seer:

I recommend using it for book recommendations if you’re at a loss. Mostly it helps you find works by the same author but sometimes you’ll stumble across a good find. Happy reading!


This week Chebk and I are getting back into our respective long-term writing projects, on top of our daily posts for the Ultimate Blogging Challenge. Some things to look forward to in the coming week: Our actual faces! Movie recs! A return to the Pantheon! And…Xena?

We’re also doing our best to look at media representation other than just race and sexuality. If you have a suggestion or recommendation for a book/movie/TV show you think we’d be interested in, don’t forget to let us know in the comments.

Chebk will be back tomorrow with an exciting special post and so I will see you all again on Wednesday with some queer Asian movie recommendations! See you soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

