Bout of Books 12: Day 4 – Synopsis Challenge (+ A Playlist)

Good day, readers! Cheri here. This post is a little delayed because I was waiting on one of the Bout of Books challenge prompts, (which ultimately got removed, much to my dismay). We’re over the halfway mark for the week and still going strong!

Yesterday I finished Malinda Lo’s Huntress (2011, approx. 370 pages), which was pretty excellent! The fantasy story focuses on two Asian girls journeying to a Fairy World to save their dying kingdom. Like Love in the Time of Global Warming, there were queer love stories, girls kicking ass (sometimes with swords), and battles between good and evil. I wish this book had existed when I was still in middle or high school because it is full of awesome representation of queer Asian women.

Onto Bout of Books, Day Four, Lulo Fangirl’s SYNOPSIS CHALLENGE:
Create your own synopsis in 3-5 sentences for any of the books you have read or plan to read during the read-a-thon.

For Francesca Lia Block’s Love in the Time of Global Warming:

“The world is overrun by man-eating giants leaving rubble and bones in their wake. Pen has waited fifty-eight days to leave the safety of her house to find her family. In this new world she finds hallucinogenic flowers, a woman born of a bodhisattva, a father’s secret, and a strange boy with a tattoo that reads I am not what I once was.”


I was also excited to participate in the previously advertised Playlist Challenge, which has since been removed, so to round off today’s late entry, I thought I’d share my small playlist for Love in the Time of Global Warming:

 global
LISTEN HERE

1. Kathryn Calder – Slip Away
(Chapter 1, The Earth Shaker)

2. MS MR – Fantasy
(Chapter 5, The Cyclops)

3. FKA Twigs – Two Weeks
(Chapter 6, The Lotus Hotel)

4. HAIM – My Song 5
(Chapter 9, Beatrix the Witch)

5. Ellie Goulding – Heartbeats
(Chapter 14, Love in the Time of Global Warming)

6. Bastille ft. Gabrielle Aplin – Dreams
(Chapter 15, Oasis of Tara)

7. Jessie Ware – Wildest Moments
(Chapter 23, House of Then)

8. Arcade Fire – It’s Never Over (Oh Orpheus!)
(Chapter 24, Little Green)


For the rest of the week I’ll probably be tackling Ryan Graudin’s The Walled City (2014). I’ll be back for Day 6, so don’t forget to stop by and say hello to Chebk tomorrow. Happy reading!

Participating in Bout of Books 12? Have a diverse media rec for Chebk or Cheri? Don’t forget to leave a comment!

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12: Day 4 – Synopsis Challenge (+ A Playlist)

  1. I haven’t read Love in the Time of Global Warming, but I like your playlist. Makes me want to pick up the book because of it 🙂

    Good luck tackling Ryan Graudin’s book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

