Bout of Books 12: Day 3 — Character Coupling

As it happens to turn out, this Bout of Books has given me a bout of something.

Regular followers are well aware that I have just started a new job and, let’s just say, it has significantly cut into my reading time (previously was all day living as a NEET [look it up]). In addition to that, I seem to have contracted some sort of plague. People have been telling me things like:

“Chebk, stop overreacting, it’s just a rash,” and “Chebk, stop being ridiculous,” but who are they to say what is the plague or not. My doctors.

princess bride i do not think it means what you think it means
Indigo Montoya here to chastise me too, I guess.

Anyway, I have managed to inch half-way into The Scorch Trials and a few more stories into the sci-fi anthology I’ve been reading.

Today’s challenge is hosted by: Writingmyownfairytale

It has been dubbed: Character Coupling Challenge and I am to find two characters from two different books and put them together in a relationship and why.

I chose Minho from The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner and Primrose Everdeen from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

prim and minho
Minho and Primrose Everdeen

This would be under a romantic or friendship relationship and I think it would work out really well. For starters, their priorities (as far as I know) are very similar. They want to survive and they want the people they care about i.e. the people in their communities, to survive and will go through great lengths to help them get there.

Minho is more of an outgoing extrovert who seems to gain energy and wear responsibility well when others are depending on him. But, as a side character, by nature he has a beta personality and will defer to others in crisis.

Prim, on the other hand, seems more introverted, working better when others are focused away from her. Then she adopts command easily, like when she instructed Katniss on how to help when Gale was injured.

She would be the power and the bedrock, he the outgoing stubborn face of their relationship.

Back to books I’m reading. I’m finding The Scorch Trials a bit dry (har har har. It takes place in a desert). It moves a bit slower than The Maze Runner and has a completely different dynamic. The shift is a bit hard to adjust to, but now that things are happening, I’m reading much faster than I was in the beginning.

The Mammoth Book of SF Stories by Women edited by Alex Dally MacFarlane has been quite a bit different from most of the sci-fi I choose to read. There is a certain artistic element that I’m much too dense to comprehend — the first story was a poem. (For those who are new: I totally suck at poems. Teachers say there is no wrong way to read a poem, but trust me, I do exactly that.) I’m much more action oriented which is what I pick to read so I guess it’s good that I’m being exposed to different kinds of writing styles. I do like some of the imagery and subtleties that are used.

In other news, I have started up my WIP novel again and may be doing some posts on that. Also, I finished a hat. Bonus points if anyone knows what it is.

eva 01 tall
Clearly just trying to show you people I’m not a completely useless lump and I was doing things.

Are you reading or writing this next week? Let us know what it is and if we should read it in our comments below!

3 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12: Day 3 — Character Coupling

  1. That’s a brilliant pairing! I never would have thought of it but I love it! Great job! I hope you enjoy the rest of Bout of Books and thanks so much for playing along today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The hat is super cute, very good job! I hope you feel better soon and I am also going to be writing this month or am supposed to get some words in… I have to finish my novel before April so then I can edit it for Camp Nanowrimo. What is your story about if you don’t mind me asking?

    Also I have been wanting to continue on with The Maze Runner series just haven’t yet is the second book really good? You say it’s a bit slower than The Maze Runner and in the beginning I thought The Maze Runner was a bit slow hopefully its not to much slower.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My story is a fantasy about a young woman becoming more responsible and opening her eyes and mind to new ideas, but the importance of fitting it into her own perspective except not boring sounding as that, lol.

      Camp nano is about editing?

      It definitely moves faster than The Runner, but slow mostly because of the events at the end of the last book… Its hard to explain so you should just read it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

