Bout of Books 12: Goals, Attempts, and Challenges

EDIT: At the end of Day One, Cheri has finished Francesca Lia Block’s Love in the Time of Global Warming (240 pages). Chebk will update shortly!

Here we go again:

Bout of BooksI’ve done Bout of Books for the last two rounds and was less successful each time. I hope to change that as Cheri and I attempt this round of: BOUT OF BOOKS! Since this is Cheri’s first year, I thought I’d go over my past experiences with this awesome week long reading extravaganza.

The first time was the best.

Unemployment had persisted and by surfing the endless web, I was able to find the helpful distraction that I hoped would get me back into reading. I had a stack of books to hopefully get through. I breezed through Patrick Rothfuss’s The Name of the Wind and started on a locally published YA romance book. The second one stumped me for the rest of the week as it was hard to get through the mundane ideas.

In my second attempt I aimed to get through Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy. This was less successful because I only finished the first book and got halfway through the second.

Both rounds left me with distinct impressions. I felt absolutely passionately about all of these books — though not all were positive feelings. It was the local book that brought the most negativity, but the other books, while good, had their problematic elements.

Anyway, onto this BOUT OF BOOKS CHALLENGES DAY #1

 

Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt hosted by Caughtreadhanded

bout of books 12 day 1
My unpainted shelf next to my painted shelf. I should’ve use the painted one…

  1. Find an author with the same initials as you – I had absolutely none of these… so I kind of improvised and found authors that had my initials “L.T.” in L.J Smith’s Dark Visions and T.H. White’s The Once and Future King.
  2. Find a book with the color yellow on it – Found quite a bit, actually. Settled with Kurt Vonnegut’s We are What We Pretend to Be which is an anthology with his first and last works.
  3. Find an author’s name with the letter “S” in it – Lucky Come Hawaii is by Jon Shirota and is a book I intend to read at some point about living in Hawaii as Japanese-Americans during WWII
  4. Find a book with a female protagonist – All my books! I chose Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb.
  5. Find the longest book you own – This was a tricky one but I think Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Scion is technically the longest book I own… I do lend out quite a few though.
  6. Find a book with a map in it or on it – Many of my books had maps but I ended up choosing Brian Staveley’s The Emperor’s Blades as another book I intend to read.
  7. Find a book with a face on it (photograph or illustrated) – Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld is a great book by a versatile author. He’s seriously amazing.
  8. Bonus: Find something on your shelf that isn’t a book – I am not a clean person so I had a lot of things on my shelves that aren’t books, but I found something pretty, luckily. A dancing fan from Okinawa from my late Grandfather.

New Year’s Resolution’s hosted by TheBookThat…

I chose 2BR02B by Kurt Vonnegut as my sole resolution is to write more. I have a novel that might be or might not, so that’s where I am on that…

Also Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss in an effort to fear only that which is wise to fear. Going to try to make it a great year!

So far this Bout of Books is going as well as can be expected. I just started a new job today so I wasn’t able to get much reading in. I read about a third of The Scorch Trials by James Dashner which is the sequel to The Maze Runner (which Cheri talked about in our previous post here), and a twenty-fifth into the The Mammoth Book of SF Stories by Women edited by Alex Dally MacFarlane. I hope to get more reading in tomorrow!

Are you going to try for Bout of Books 12? Let us know what you’re reading this year in the comments below!

One thought on “Bout of Books 12: Goals, Attempts, and Challenges

Leave a Reply

